Review: Fragile Like Us by Sara Barnard

Screenshot_2019-10-09-12-21-34
3.75/5 stars

I’ve already read and liked one other book by the author, A Quiet Kind of Thunder, so I thought this was a perfectly safe pick and it says at the back of the book “For fans of Morgan Matson and Sarah Dessen” and it was quite an accurate description. It had that comfortable, warm tone of Sarah Dessen’s novels and the familiar theme of genuine friendship in Morgan Matson’s books.


What I liked about Fragile Like Us is its honesty and accuracy in depicting the friendship of the three girls- Caddy, Rosie and Suzanne. The girls have different personalities which just make their friendship more believable and relatable. Originally, it was only Caddy and Rosie, best friends since they were little kids and then came the ‘troubled Suze’ and the balance gets uneven. The nice Caddy finally gets the “significant life event” she was longing for except it actually involved literally risking her life.

More than the story of friendship, the book also highlights abuse and consequently mental health in the character of Suze. Plot-wise, it isn’t really engaging or adventurous but the story’s significance isn’t diminished. I still feel quite connected and interested and if the author is able to hold the reader’s attention that way, she’s definitely something.

Published by AJ

Hi! I'm Aj from the Philippines. Obviously I love to read and write and from years of experience I have learned that when you love something so much, you would do it absolutely for free so here I am writing stuff for all people to see in the hopes that at least one or maybe two souls could benefit or get little inspiration from what they will read from this blog. Enjoy and spread the love! ;)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: