Quick Review: The Manifesto on How to be Interesting by Holly Bourne

26238397_1540390326016225_1852261050_o.jpg
3/5 stars!

I am not sure how to feel about the book. The Manifesto on How to be Interesting is basically about a high school outcast who experiments on how to be interesting as part of her research in becoming a writer. It’s kind of formulaic, cliché-ish, quite bitter and anti-humanistic but with a lot of truth to it.

As usual, the writing is very bold, revolutionary and feministic. At times though, I feel like it went a bit too far. The things Bree personally decided to do as “parts” of her experiment are a bit too cringe-worthy and it broke my heart that she thought she had to do these things to achieve her dream of being a known writer.

I’m still Holly Bourne’s fan. Her themes are always so relevant, current and something that will make you really think about how society really is. I just don’t think this particular book is her best but I’m still looking forward to the rest of the books she wrote.

Published by AJ

Hi! I'm Aj from the Philippines. Obviously I love to read and write and from years of experience I have learned that when you love something so much, you would do it absolutely for free so here I am writing stuff for all people to see in the hopes that at least one or maybe two souls could benefit or get little inspiration from what they will read from this blog. Enjoy and spread the love! ;)

Leave a comment